Representatives – Australian


Ben won Best and fairest award for 10 years straight from 1947 to 1956 whilst playing for Footscray Hockey Club. Humbled by the decade of  honors, he requested not to be included in the best and fairest voting, though he remained in the team, to allow his team mates to shine. Acton coached from 1949 – 1958 at FHC, a reign that delivered two State League Premierships.

The only Australian and possibly the only man in the world, to represent his country in both ice hockey and field hockey. He captioned the Australian ice hockey team at the 1960 Olympics at Squaw Valley, California, in the United States.

He was invited to the 1964 Olympics but declined because of business commitments.

Ben was vice captain of the Australian Men’s field hockey team in 1950, 1952 and 1954 and carried the torch at the 1956 Olympic Games in Melbourne.

He was chief ice hockey umpire at the 1956 Olympics and played field hockey for Victoria for 15 years.

Ben has kindly donated his jumper he proudly wore when representing Australia on the 1950’s to Footscray Hockey Club. It is on display in the FHC’s clubrooms in the memorabilia cabinet.

Ben last visited FHC in 2009 at the 75th Commemorative Reunion and currently resides in Queensland.


1972 – Bob Blackbell



O/50 – SPEED, Alby (1986)
O/65 – SPEED, Alby (COACH-2002,03 )

O/40 – COSTER, Neil (2006, 07, 08, 09, 10, 11)
O/55 – COSTER, Neil (2005)

O/50 BYRNE, Peter (2005,06,07,08)
O/55 – BYRNE, Peter (2010)

O/40 – CROWLEY, Andrew (2005)

O/50 – LEWIS, Geoff (2008)
O/55 – LEWIS, Geoff (2009, 10)

O/35 – LE, Tung (2012)

O/35 – TOUSSAINT, Nigel (2011, 12, 13)
O/40 – TOUSSAINT, Nigel (2015)

O/35 – TOUSSAINT, Damien (2012)

O/35 – WHITBRED Matt (2013)

O/35 – McLEAN Stuart (2013)

O/50 – FROST, Phillip (2015)