27 October 2012

 The Victorian Women have defeated NSW in the Grand Final of today’s Australian Hockey League Grand Final and crowned the 2012 Champions.

Grand Final Day Results

Grand Final
Victoria 5 def New South Wales 1 (half time 4-1)
VIC: Own goal (7m), Claire Messent (26m FG), Stephanie Riordan (30m FG), Sam Ellis (35m PC), Danielle Schubach (37m FG)
NSW:Georgina Morgan (4m PC)

The Victoria Vipers are the 2012 AHL Champions after defeating the NSW Arrows 5-1 in the Gold Medal match at Perth Hockey Stadium today. NSW flew out of the blocks when Georgina Morgan slotted home nicely from a Penalty Corner, after only 4 minute played, but then it was allVictoria, as they scored the 5 goals in 30 minutes to overrun the Arrows in a dominant display of Grand Final hockey. VIC got on the board at the 7 minute mark when NSW accidently deflected the ball past their own keeper Toni Cronk, to tie up the scores. From then on the Vipers could seemingly do no wrong, with Messent was playing some exceptional hockey in midfield and then getting into good positions inside the circle. Messent then gave the VIC girls the lead when she slotted home nicely with 8 minutes to run in the first half. The Vipers were feeling it was going to be their day when Stephanie Riordan gave them a 3-1 lead, and then shortly after Sam Ellis tapped home from a PC after the half time buzzer had sounded.

For NSW to come back from a 4-1 half time score line would have been a huge effort, but definitely not impossible, anything can happen in sport, however when VIC scored their 5th goal within 2 minutes of the restart through Danielle Schubach, they Vics knew that this was going to be their year. No further goals were added for the remainder of the match, asVictoria’s defence was resolute and saw off any NSW attacks. As the clock was winding down to full time, the VIC girls seemed to be soaking up every moment in what would be a memorable day for Victorian Hockey.Victoria’s last AHL title was way back in 2003 and they haven’t been in the Gold Medal match since, so the girls and support staff will no doubt celebrate this year’s title well into the night and deservedly so. Claire Messent was awarded this year’s trophy for best player in the Grand Final.