Best wishes to FHC’s Olivia Colasurdo, Carly James, Gwen Lynch and Isabella Colasurdo in the National U21’s Tournament in Sydney from 3rd to 12th July, 2018. Pictured: Carly James U21’s...

Read More

Bulldog Banter

  • Every person in the Victorian Hockey Community has the right to participate in an environment which is safe, welcoming and inclusive. Equally every player, coach, official, spectator and administrator plays a part in ensuring their actions and behaviours are supportive of these values.

    As a player, parent, coach, administrator, official or supporter in any activity held by or under the auspices of HV or one of HV’s Affiliated Clubs or Associations, you must meet the requirements in regard to your conduct during any such activity or event.  HV will look to identify and penalise any behaviour which is unsocial or against these codes as part of its judicial process.

    Click Here to view Hockey Victoria’s Codes of Behaviour

  • The Board of Management is very pleased to announce that as of the 1 July, our Junior Section will have it’s own sponsor – HFM ASSET MANAGEMENT. The agreement (details still to be finalized) will run over two years initially, and will see FHC expand it’s junior section operations into a range of new program areas.

    More details on the junior section’s program expansion in our next BANTER, but for now, here’s a lovely story ……………….

    Forty or so years ago, two young Western Australian boys came to Victoria to study marine engineering at the then Footscray Technical College (today known as Victoria University). The two seventeen year olds were Ian Knox from Perth, and his best mate Len Darby from Bunbury. The Footscray Hockey Club became a home away from home for the young boys, and people like Brendan and Julie-Anne Sheehan, Darryl Jahnke, Greg Hopkins and Lynda Thomas, RJ and a few others became their local family and great friends.

    Well skip forward forty or so years and both men have had very successful careers, with Ian in particular establishing a highly successful building efficiency company (‘they make buildings more efficient, healthier and cheaper to run’), and very importantly, never forgetting the great start to life that FHC and the key people there in the day were able to help him capture. Ian is a great supporter of junior sport in WA, and is very keen to help FHC achieve much more with our junior section operations. More in the next BANTER!

  • Pavilion: FHC’s deputation met with Council officers over a month ago to discuss issues centred on toilet and storage provision. In what was said to be a time-critical process, it is frustrating that we are yet to hear back about a couple of suggestions that FHC put forward.

    In addition to the internal works that will get underway at the completion of the 2018 season, FHC have been encouraging Council to broaden our project’s ‘scope of works’ to include an upgrade of external elements (fencing, landscaping, building signage) that our visitors see when they approach the entry gates at FHC.

    As the image attached shows(thank-you Men’s PC star Ed Negus for the fantastic graphic design), with luck we will have a beautiful external approach to our building that will match the wonderful new internal set-up by the end of next summer.

    F2 repairs: Good news that Council are advising that the extensive repairs are now completed. This has proved to be be an expensive closure period for FHC, but all training and match commitments will be ‘off and racing’ commencing with the JSC in the first week of July.

  • This year our junior section has welcomed and recruited many new junior members of varying ages, abilities and experience. They have successfully been welcomed and integrated into our existing programs with ease and enjoyment.

    FHC’s ‘road show’ clinics conducted in 8 Primary Schools in February targeted grade 1 and grade 2 students and was a huge success, with an even in take of talented young girls and boys rocking up to our Come and Try sessions. But this wasn’t always the case, a few years ago our Junior Section looked at the difficulty that we were having recruiting ‘first choice’ young sportspeople to our Club given the great grab for talent across local aussie rules, soccer, lacrosse and other sports. We were targeting grade 3 and 4 students, and many young females were coming through, but not those of the male kind, so something had to be done!

    Over the last four years our recruiting strategies have changed (basically we bring in our recruits at a younger age now) and, combined with terrific coaching programs and personnel, by the time our young boys and girls are getting to U10 level, we are arguably the best performing boys and girls at that age in Victoria!

    The U10 Hockey Victoria Boys and Girls 8 week competition has concluded and FHC have performed very well in the Girls and the Boys. We will re-enter these same teams into the 8 week Term 3 U10 HV competition.

    U10 HV Girls Red – 1st
    U10 HV Girls Blue – 2nd

    U10 HV Boys Blue – 1st
    U10 Boys Red – 3rd

    In coming years we anticipate lots of team successes as this strength rises up through U12 to U14 to U16 and then seniors, and hopefully huge numbers of children achieving individual honours for the Western Wildcats (our regional teams in the annual junior state championships), Victoria and Australia!

august, 2018

02augallday08alldayFAIR GO SPORT! ROUND(All Day)

04aug(aug 4)9:00 am(aug 4)9:00 amJUNIOR FAMILY FUN DAY9:00 am - 12:00 pm

06aug(aug 6)7:00 pm(aug 6)7:00 pmHOCKEY 6's ROUND @ FHC7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

13aug(aug 13)7:00 pm(aug 13)7:00 pmHOCKEY 6's ROUND @ FHC7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

18aug(aug 18)7:00 pm(aug 18)7:00 pmTRIVIA NIGHTALL WELCOME7:00 pm - 11:30 pm

Social feeds will be here