Several weeks ago FHC received notification that it had been short-listed, along with two other clubs, for H.V.’s Community Club of the Year award. To the delight of our representatives at last week’s Hockey Victoria Annual Dinner and Awards Night, we were acknowledged as the winners and presented with a shield. This award was recognition of the hard work carried out by our Board, by the members who meet their annual volunteer commitments, and particularly by those members who go beyond the minimal requirements.

So a special ‘shout-out’ to all in our junior section who supported this year’s Welcome West Wagon Food for Asylum-Seekers Program  (Great job Trudy W), to Tung Le for leading our members support of several ‘outreach’ programs in Ho Chi Minh City, and for our continued expansion of the ‘Access All Abilities’ Program co-ordinated by Julie-Anne Sheehan (JA).

See below Julie-Anne’s thank-you to the FHC volunteers that have helped expand our wonderful AAA program.

Brendan Sheehan – Director Planning and Performance

‘In relation to Access All Abilities, which was a key component of our recognition, I would like to acknowledge the contribution of a number of individuals. Notably Georgia Cutrale, Josh Walsh and Ally Sheehan who participated in our initial collaboration with Scope Victoria. Subsequently, Sam Cutrale and Kirby Smith joined this group to facilitate the Northern Suburbs Special Schools Hockey Tournament and more recently Georgia Hopkins and Chris Provis-Vincent have provided hockey clinics in special school settings.

Next month Georgia Cutrale is hoping to receive enough expressions of interest to conduct a pilot after school program for students with special needs. It is anticipated that this could become a way to link young people, who have an interest in our sport, with a local organization that can support them.

‘While FHC continues to gain recognition for our on-field performances, it is certainly not at the expense of making our club an inclusive environment for all’.

Julie-Anne Sheehan – FHC Inclusion Ambassador